Cyprus Adds France, Peru and Monaco to Dangerous Travel List


Unvaccinated and unrecovered travelers from France, Peru and Monaco are subject to double-testing requirements as authorities revealed those countries have been added to the red box.

However, this restriction does not apply to arrivals with full vaccination, recovery or COVID-19 digital certificates from the EU, reports

Additionally, vaccines approved by Cypriot authorities for use include Pfizer / BioNTech, AstraZeneca, Moderna, Janssen, Sputnik V, Sinopharm (BBIBP COVID-19) and the Sinovac vaccine.

Currently the red category includes the following:

  • EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Czech Republic, Finland
  • Microstates: Andorra, Monaco, San Marino
  • Schengen area : Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway
  • Third country : Egypt, Armenia, Georgia, United States of America, United Kingdom, Jordan, Belarus, Lebanon, Oman, Ukraine, Peru, Russia, Serbia

Entry rules for red category arrivals include taking a PCR test 72 hours before departure and undergoing another test upon arrival in Cyprus. In the meantime, the traveler is required to remain isolated.

However, no change from the previous assessment was noted in the amber box, as no new countries were added.

Travelers from the orange category are required to present a PCR test performed 72 hours prior to arrival, and include the following:

  • EU Member States: Greece, Spain, Italy, Malta, Portugal
  • Microstates: Vatican City
  • Third country : Argentina, Australia, Japan, Israel, Canada, Qatar, China (including Hong Kong and Macao), Colombia, Namibia, New Zealand, South Korea, Uruguay, Rwanda, Chile

The green category, which currently does not include any EU member state and only third countries such as the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia, does not impose any entry requirements for its unvaccinated arrivals.

“It is also noted that all passengers, regardless of the category of the country, including those who hold a valid vaccination certificate, are required to apply for the Cyprus Flight Pass within 48 hours before the departure of their flight”, stressed the Cypriot authorities.

Data from the World Health Organization (WHO) shows that 2,416 positive cases have been registered in Cyprus in the past seven days, bringing the total number of positive cases in the country to 130,100. Total reported deaths reached 590, two of those recorded in the past 24 hours.

While WHO data shows the total vaccine doses administered per 100 population in Cyprus is 133.2 and 66.85 for fully vaccinated people, the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) shows that 68.9% of the Cypriot population is partially vaccinated against COVID-19, while 67 percent are fully immune.


Comments are closed.